Left eye dominant and right handed

A general discussion area for turkey hunters.
coconut

Left eye dominant and right handed

Post by coconut »

I have been getting lil coconut started shooting a red Ryder BB gun and noticed he was aiming out of his left eye. He is right handed. We did a quick eye dominance test and discovered he is left eye dominant. I have no experience dealing with this any suggestions?
Cut N Run

Re: Left eye dominant and right handed

Post by Cut N Run »

I'm right handed & left eye dominant. I throw, write, hold a fork, open doors, and used to shoot a bow right handed. I cut with scissors, shoot a rifle, shotgun, & crossbow left handed. I can shoot a handgun either hand.

I learned to shoot left handed because shooting with my right was off and my grandfather recognized I was left eye dominant. I started hunting with single shot shotguns and double barrels. My first pump shotgun was right handed, because my parents couldn't find a left hand gun back in the 70s. Still to this day, all my hunting guns are right handed because I learned how to work a right bolt rifle left handed and I never notice the shell ejecting to the right from a semi automatic or pump shotgun. I owned a left hand shotgun once,but it seemed backwards & I sold it less than a year after I bought it. My favorite shotgun was an Ithaca 37R, which was bottom eject, though it was stolen over 30 years ago and I just never replaced it.

I would suggest having your son shoot a single shot from each side, then concentrate on developing his skills with whichever was closest to on target. Eventually, he will become comfortable going to his strength side. It's all about making the first shot count anyway.

I hope this helps.

Jim
ICDEDTURKES
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by ICDEDTURKES »

Triangle test,have him focus I somenthing 10 yards out, drraw to eye. Whatever is normally dominant

I'm right handed left footed
pullit
Gobbler Nation
Gobbler Nation

Post by pullit »