mossberg 835 turkey gun

Talk about 10 12 & 16 gauge shotguns here.
gobbler83

mossberg 835 turkey gun

Post by gobbler83 »

Hello this is my first year of turkey hunting or at least being really serious about it. I just bought a 835 with 24 inch barrel I really like it. The only shells my local store had was some Hevi Shot magnum blend in 4 5 7. it didn't really pattern that well at 40 yards with the factory choke. what do you guys recommend for chokes with this load? they are suppose to be getting some nitro in at some point but they really didn't know when. ive looked at rhino jelly head indian creek and the hevi choke on the internet. just wondering if you might could give a little info on what to try. I understand every gun is different and ive almost waited to long to be testing different loads and chokes. turkey season opens in a couple of weeks here. thanks in advance.
tubecaller10

Re: mossberg 835 turkey gun

Post by tubecaller10 »

gobbler83 wrote:Hello this is my first year of turkey hunting or at least being really serious about it. I just bought a 835 with 24 inch barrel I really like it. The only shells my local store had was some Hevi Shot magnum blend in 4 5 7. it didn't really pattern that well at 40 yards with the factory choke. what do you guys recommend for chokes with this load? they are suppose to be getting some nitro in at some point but they really didn't know when. ive looked at rhino jelly head indian creek and the hevi choke on the internet. just wondering if you might could give a little info on what to try. I understand every gun is different and ive almost waited to long to be testing different loads and chokes. turkey season opens in a couple of weeks here. thanks in advance.
Rhino 695 with nitro 517 4x5x7. I'm hitting 290s at 40 yards in 10" circle.
Mag blends did okay but nitro smoked them.
gobbler83

Post by gobbler83 »

tubecaller10 wrote: